Alondra Vega-Zaldivar

Composer Alondra Vega-Zaldivar on humor, 
storytelling, and the vital roles artists play as 
philosophers and messengers.  


Canadian composer Alondra Vega-Zaldivar was born in Cuba and is currently living in Toronto, Canada. Her music draws inspiration from everything that surrounds her and aims to reflect her curious and humoristic take on the world: from the stars that shimmer up above to the constant singing of cicadas, but also her yearning for peace in humankind. More recently she has discovered a passion for the natural world and looks forward to inspiring people to look closer at the beauty that is found in the most unlikely places on Earth.

Alondra obtained her BMus in Theory and Composition as well as her MMus in Composition from The University of Western Ontario, where she studied with Canadian composers: David Myska, Paul Frehner, Peter Paul Koprowski and Omar Daniel. In 2018 Alondra was a finalist for the Costello Composition Prize organized by the Lyra Society organization and her piece Peace… for flute, viola and harp will be published by Fatrock Ink Music Publisher this coming fall. 


Two Cardinals begins at 00:40.

Rise of the Cuban Cicadas begins at 5:36.

A Haunted Tableau begins at 10:57.

Lyra For String Quartet begins at 18:47.